Teenagers bag 5 years imprisonment for escaping from Osun police custody

Osun court
By Ekene Agbor, Osogbo
An Osun Magistrate’s court sitting in Osogbo, the state capital on Tuesday sentenced four teenagers to five years imprisonment for escaping from Dugbe police custody.
The convicts are; Adeleke Azeez, aged 20, Isola Segun, 18, Odewale Maliq,18 and Ayoola Pelumi,15
The convicts were earlier arraigned and remanded at Ilesa correctional center on July 28, 2020 for three count-charge bothering on unlawful escape and willful damage of police custody.
Police prosecutor, Inspector Adeoye Kayode told the court that the convicts committed the offence on July 27, 2020 at about 3:00am at Dugbe police station Osogbo.
He alleged that the convicts did willfully damage the iron door and the roofing sheet of Dugbe police station and escaped from the lawful custody.
Adeoye said that the offence committed by the convicts was contrary to and punishable under section 516,135(a) and 151(b) Cap 34 Vol ll Law of Osun State 2002.
The four convicts pleaded guilty to the allegations slammed against them.
The defence counsel, Adedoyin Ajewole while stating her allocutus for the convicts, urged the court to caution and discharge them because they are  young and if sentenced, they may be corrupted in the correctional center.
In his ruling, Magistrate Abayomi Ajala sentenced the convicts to two years  imprisonment for the first count charge, two years for second count charge and one year for third  count charge to run concurrently or option of fine of N9,000 with six strock of cane each.


The Editor of News Boom Nigeria has years of cognate practical journalism experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Privacy policy

Privacy Policy for NewsBoomNg This Privacy Policy explains how NewsBoomNg collects, uses, and shares information from users of our news blog. It also explains how we use cookies and other tracking technologies. Information We Collect We collect the following information from users of our news blog: Contact information: This may include your name, email address, […]

Read More
Peter Olaitan

UNIOSUNTH CMD elected 15th National President for Nigerian Plastic Surgeons

UNIOSUNTH CMD elected 15th National President for Nigerian Plastic Surgeons TIMOTHY AGBOR Prof. Peter Babatunde Olaitan has been elected the 15th President of the Nigerian Association of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons (NAPRAS). He became the 15th president of the association following an election which held at the Annual General Meeting and Scientific conference of […]

Read More

Osun NUJ holds Intellectual Discourse Programme tomorrow 

Osun NUJ holds Intellectual Discourse Programme tomorrow TIMOTHY AGBOR Nigeria Union of Journalists, Osun State Council will on Wednesday holds its 2nd  Quarterly Intellectual Discourse Programme at the NUJ Press Centre, Iwo/Ibadan Road, Osogbo by 10 in the morning. A statement by the Chairman of the Union,Comrade Wasiu Ajadosu and Secretary,Comrade Adeyemi Aboderin indicated that […]

Read More