Breaking: INEC declares Rotimi Akeredolu winner of Ondo election

Breaking: INEC declares Akeredolu winner of Ondo election

By Ekene Agbor

Olurotimi Akeredolu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN, as the winner of the Saturday’s governorship election in Ondo state.

Akeredolu who is the incumbent Governor won 15 out of the 18 local government areas of the state, leaving the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Eyitayo Jegede with three LGs.

He won by polling 292,830 votes. Jegede became runner up as he got 195,791 votes.

The Deputy Governor and candidate of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Agboola Ajayi came third without winning any local government.

The returning officer for the election, Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka, who is the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan declared Akeredolu winner a returned him elected.

Also Read:

Ondo guber: Few hours to poll, APC chieftain asks court to disqualify Akeredolu 

Speaking, Akeredolu thanked the people of Ondo and called on opponents to join his government.


3 thoughts on “Breaking: INEC declares Rotimi Akeredolu winner of Ondo election

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *