OSIEC declares results of Osun LG election

OSIEC declares results of Osun LG election, presents certificates of return to elected officers
Osun Independent Electoral Commission has disclosed the outcome of Saturday’s local government election held across Osun State.
The OSIEC Chairman, Otunba Segun Oladitan, while addressing a press conference with the newly elected chairmen, vice-chairmen and councillors at the OSIEC premises on Sunday in Osogbo, said the All Progressives Congress only participated in the election.
He declared and returned 393 councillors unopposed in their respective local government areas, local council development areas and area councils having fulfilled requirements of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended) the Electoral Act 2022 and the Law of Osun State Independent Electoral Commission, 2022.
Oladitan declared 69 chairmen and vice-chairmen duly elected having been subjected to YES or NO votes in their respective Local Government Areas, Local Council Development Areas and Area Councils.
Osun Local Government officers
However, the OSIEC Chairman didn’t issue any figures of the votes cast but said all the chairmen and vice-chairmen elected had not less than one-third of the votes cast at the election in each of at least two-thirds of all the Wards in the Area Councils, according to Section 106(1) (a) & (b) of the Electoral Act 2022.
He presented certificates of return to all the new council officials.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *