Oyetola re-appoints four ex-commissioners who resigned to contest NASS tickets

Oyetola re-appoints four ex-commissioners who resigned to contest NASS tickets
Osun State Governor, Gboyega Oyetola has re-appointed some commissioners in his cabinet who had resigned their positions before contesting National Assembly tickets in the primaries of the ruling All Progressives Congress in May.
The governor had directed those within his cabinet who were interested in contesting positions in the forthcoming general elections to resign.
Among those who had resigned to contest National Assembly tickets are Mrs Giwa Latifat, former Commissioner for Human Resources, Barr. Olubukola Olaboopo, former Commissioner for Women, Children and Social Affairs, Hon. Solagbade Oladepo, former Commissioner of Environment, and a former Commissioner for Commerce, Industry and Co-operative, Hon. Olabode Olaonipekun.
Latifat for Osun West Senatorial ticket, Olaboopo bid for Ifelodun/Boripe/Odo-Otin Federal Constituency, Oladepo contested for Osogbo/Orulu/Olorunda Federal Constituency while Olanipekun contested Ila Federal Constituency.
The four ex-commissioners had reportedly lost their bids to clinch tickets at the National Assembly primaries of the party.
Meanwhile, Oyetola, has asked the State House of Assembly to reconfirm and re-appoint the re-nominated Commissioners and two other Special Advisers to fill vacant positions in the State Executive Council.
Gboyega Oyetola
Gboyega Oyetola
The Speaker, Hon. Timothy Owoeye, while reading out the request of the governor for the re-confirmation of the Commissioner and SAs nominees at the plenary on Thursday, said the designates are to submit 35 copies of their resume to the House of Assembly on or before Monday 27th June, 2022.
While requesting for the confirmation and re-appointment of Commissioners and Special Advisers, Governor Oyetola said: “In line with the provisions of Section 192(2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as Amended, I hereby present the under listed nominees for consideration and confirmation by the House of Assembly into the position of Commissioners/Special Advisers in the state of Osun with a view to filling the vacant positions in the State Executive Council.
“The nominees are Mrs Giwa Latifat, Barr. Olaboopo Olubukola, Hon. Solagbade Oladepo,
Hon. Henry Olaonipekun, Hon. Bakare Akande Aleem and Hon.Olanike Omoworare,”
The Assembly, however, constituted a 7 man  Committee headed by the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Simeon Popoola to screen the nominees.
Meanwhile, the State Assembly has reconfirmed and extended the tenure of Caretaker Management Committee in the Local Government Councils  and Local Government Development Area Councils in the state.
Oyetola had requested that the tenure of the caretaker committee be extended in line with Section 3(A)(i) (ii) (III) of the State of Osun Local Government Administration and Amendment 7 Law,(2021).
The request letter read in part, “This is to bring to your notice that the 6 months term of the Caretaker Management Committee in the Local Government, Councils, Local Government Development Area Councils will expire on the 12th of July, 2022.
“I hereby request the Distinguish State House of Assembly, Osun State to confirm the Appointment of the Caretaker Management to run the affairs of the Councils for another period of 6 months.”
The speaker while commending the governor, emphasised the need to prevent a vacuum in Local Government being the closest tier of government to the people. Owoeye enjoined the Caretaker members to Improve on their relationship with the Assembly to ensure the welfare of the citizenry.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *